College Lifegroup: August 1, 2013

(Photo Source)

For those of you who don’t know, I am a southern baptist and I go to a southern baptist church, and in our church we have lifegroups for different people in different walks of life. I happen to be a part of the college lifegroup. It is AWESOME and full of so many amazing people. I don’t think I’ve felt more welcome anywhere else. I can’t wait to make some new friends 😀

Anyway, we were supposed to talk about marriage today (last week we talked about sexual immorality) but instead we held an open floor so any topic could be discussed. It was really interesting listening to everyone’s conversation! I pitched in a bit too, but I’m not much of a talker. One thing that really stood out to me was the mention that our generation (I am 21) are striking out on different paths than our parents or grandparents. Instead of the desire to fulfill the “American Dream”, it seems like our generation is being called to partake more actively in living for Christ. Personally, I’m not so worried about that 9-5 job or that constant financial security; the dream of owning a home with a white picket fence, earning six figures, and having two and a half kids doesn’t come to mind when I think of my future. I think of travelling to far off places, building churches, learning languages, living as  a missionary, and bringing God to people across the globe. I don’t have a guy I want to marry (although I wouldn’t complain if I did) and I am content being single; it isn’t a big deal to me because my eyes are on God. I don’t want to get tied down in one spot and I don’t want to be comfortable and content with where I am. I want to be constantly pushing my limits. I want to step out of my comfort zone. I want to serve others. I want to serve God. And I am so glad I now know someone with the same mindset.

Leave a Reply

